Author Boxing Collere Football College Basketball Court Fantasy Golf MLB
Collegiate Sports Forums
MMA NFL NHL NBA Opinion Racing Rumors Soccer Tennis Tickets WWE Submit

Friday will mark the beginning of the 38th Ryder Cup between the United States against Europe.  The 2012 version of the matches will be played at the Medinah Country Club in Medinah, IL.  The European team is the defending champion after winning 14 ½ to 13 ½ in 2010 at Celtic Manor Resort.  The American team put on a valiant comeback effort but fell just short of the prize.  Davis Love III will attempt to captain the US team to a victory over José María Olazábal and the European team.

The Ryder Cup features three days of different formats in which each team can earn points.  A total of 28 points are available, which means the winning team must have at least 14 ½ points.  In the event of a tie at 14 points, the defending champion will win the tiebreaker.  Day 1 features a morning and afternoon session.  The morning session will consist of 4 foursome alternate shot matches.  The after noon session will consist of 4 foursome better ball matches.   Day 2 will feature a similar schedule with two sessions of foursome matches.  Day 3 will feature 12 single matches that will use a matchplay format.  The rosters that will battle it out for their respective countries are as follows:



Tiger Woods

Bubba Watson

Jason Dufner

Keegan Bradley

Webb Simpson

Zach Johnson

Matt Kuchar

Phil Mickelson

Steve Stricker

Jim Furyk

Brandt Snedeker

Dustin Johnson



Rory McIlroy

Justin Rose

Paul Lawrie

Graeme McDowell

Francesco Molinari

Luke Donald

Lee Westwood

Sergio Garcia

Peter Hanson

Martin Kaymer

Nicolas Colsaerts

Ian Poulter

The best golfers in the world will meet in Illinois to claim bragging rights for the next two years.  Check out all the action of the 2012 Ryder Cup starting September 28-30!